Home Politics Source Reveals – Why Jigawa Governor is heading APC convention committee

Source Reveals – Why Jigawa Governor is heading APC convention committee



The All Progressives Congress National Working Committee is expected to release the names of the convention committee either on Monday or Tuesday.

Investigations by our correspondent revealed that the Governor of Jigawa State, Alhaji Abubakar Badaru, had been penciled in as the chairman.

It was gathered that the name of the governor was agreed to by the three major blocs in the party. The blocs, according to sources close to the party, are the governors, the Asiwaju Bola Tinubu group and the John Odigie-Oyegun-led NWC.

While the governors were said to have been satisfied because Badaru is one of them, the Tinubu group was said to have taken solace in the fact that Badaru was a member of the defunct Action Congress of Nigeria, of which the former governor was a leader.

The source said, “Badaru was the governorship candidate of the defunct ACN in Jigawa State in 2011 and was defeated by the former governor, Alhaji Sule Lamido. While Lamido had 676,306 votes, Badaru scored 347,177 votes. So, in a way, he’s a member of the Tinubu group.

“Then the Oyegun-led NWC also believes that majority of the governors are behind them and so, they have no issues with Badaru.”

Apart from Badaru, the convention committee is said to include governors, senators, members of the House of Representatives and other caucuses in the party.

A highly placed source in the party also said that those on the list could be up to 60.

“So, barring any last-minute change, the list should come out either by Monday or Tuesday,” he added.

Source; The Punch


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here